Liverpool: Referee Craig Pawson blows a potential penalty from Luke Thomas due to handball
Referee Craig Pawson may have made a significant error in the most recent Liverpool game by not awarding a penalty for an apparent handball by Luke Thomas.
The Reds are expecting to create momentum in the second half of the season now that Premier League activity has resumed following the break for the 2022 World Cup.
And they appear to be accomplishing just that, with two wins in two league games. Indeed, after defeating Aston Villa, Jurgen Klopp’s men won 2-1 at home against Leicester City.
The contest was relatively close, as evidenced by the scoreline. However, things could have gone considerably better for Liverpool if the referee or VAR had awarded a penalty after the ball looked to strike Thomas on the arm inside his own box.
As shown in the image, Thomas challenges Joel Matip, and the ball falls into his arm as both players fail to connect with their heads. This allows the Foxes defender to cushion it before clearing it from danger.
We believe the left-back is fortunate that the referee did not signal to the spot and that VAR allowed it to pass. Maybe they thought his arm was too close to his torso, but that could have been a penalty on another day.
In the end, it didn’t cost the Reds anything, courtesy to Wout Faes’ two own goals. If the Reds hadn’t been so fortunate to win the game the way they did, this incident might have gotten more attention.